Santa will announce how much money raised later this week

Santa Bus banner

Ho Ho Ho

For this 20th anniversary my elves and I were so excited to share this special event with you all. 

To celebrate the last 20 years of Christmas Giving, the Brighton & Hove Buses, Santa Bus raised money for amazing 20 charities, over 20 festive nights whilst travelling 20 local routes. 

Later this week we will be announcing the final amount raised!

This Santa Bus charities were: 

Martlets Hospice, Chestnut Tree House Children's Hospice, MNDA, Switchboard, Sussex Homeless Support, Impact Initiatives, Grace Eyre, Choir With No Name, Take Shelter, Raystede Centre for Animal Welfare, Racial Harassment Forum, The Hummingbird Project, Fareshare Sussex & Surrey, ABC Fund, Trust for Developing Communities, Chomp, Rise, Team Domenica, Rainbow Fund and Moulsecoomb Forest Garden.  

To learn more about the charities click here

Everyone who took part this year was a volunteer with colleagues joining from from across the bus company as well as volunteers joining us from across the city. 

A huge jolly thank you to each and everyone of you for supporting my Santa Bus whether it was by making a donation, by volunteering, by being a collection point or simply by coming out to give me a festive wave as we passed you by. 

How fabulously festive is that!

Picture of a red bus with festive lights on the side. The image is to represent the Santa Bus

Brighton & Hove Buses’ open-topped Santa Bus is decorated with 10,000 lights and plays Christmas music while Santa waves from the top deck.   

In previous years the Santa Bus has raised over £375,000 for local charities and organisations since it began in 2003. You can still donate by clicking the donation button below. 

Donate web button. Red button with heart. Symbol of financial aid isolated  on white background. Vector illustration. Stock Vector | Adobe Stock

This year, Christmas 2023, my elves and I visited the following areas. 

Friday 24 November Goldstone and Downs Park
Monday 27 November Bevendean
Tuesday 28 November Woodingdean B
Wednesday 29 November Hollingbury
Thursday 30 November  Peacehaven
Monday 4 December East Saltdean
Tuesday 5 December Patcham
Wednesday 6 December Portland Road/ Hangleton Valley Drive
Thursday 7 December Stanford
Saturday 9 December Southwick 
Monday 11 December Saltdean
Tuesday 12 December Hollingdean
Wednesday 13 December Woodingdean A
Thursday 14 December West Blatchington and Knoll
Saturday 16 December Hangleton
Monday 18 December Coldean/ Meadowview/ Hartington Road 
Tuesday 19 December Moulsecoomb
Wednesday 20 December Wish
Thursday 21 December Whitehawk
Friday 22 December Mile Oak

Brighton & Hove Buses Managing Director Ed Wills said "Its the 20th anniversary of the Brighton & Hove Santa Bus and what an incredible 20 years it has been. As well as raising money for multiple local charities, over the last 2 decades,  it has also brought festive light and cheer to hundreds and thousands of people,

The Santa Bus is only possible due to the generosity of everyone involved, Whether its volunteering time, donating to the charities or supporting us by coming out to give Santa a wave.

And what makes the Santa Bus even more special is how many people, who once saw the Santa Bus when they were children, are now bringing their own children along to see the Santa now they have all grown up.  An example of one of this years Santa Bus charities is the food charity, Fareshare Sussex & Surrey who provide food to over 160 charities and community groups to help break the cycle of poverty"  

 

Picture of Santa Claus holding a collection pot. On the collection pot the wording says "Santa Bus Charities"

Santa Bus banner